Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: 'Know Our Place:' The wrong subtext for the Transgender District

Guest Opinion: 'Know Our Place:' The wrong subtext for the Transgender District

By Adriana Roberts

As a 30-year resident of San Francisco — who is also a transgender woman — I was elated when I first saw, in 2017, that the city had designated an official and legally-recognized Transgender District, centered at Turk and Taylor streets.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 805 Stories

By David J. Johns | January 12, 2022

The executive director of the National Black Justice Coalition calls for action to honor the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday.

By Ryan Oda | January 5, 2022

While smoking rates have declined nationally in the past 20 years, this reduction has not been shared equally among Black, Indigenous, and people of color communities or the LGBTQ+ community — and especially among those with intersecting identities.


By Honey Mahogany and Race Bannon | December 22, 2021

If you follow San Francisco politics, you know Matt Haney.

By Marlena | December 15, 2021

On February 15, San Francisco voters will participate in a special election to replace David Chiu in the California Assembly for District 17.


By Austin Hunter | December 8, 2021

When I came out to my loved ones, they were worried I would get AIDS. When I came out to my best friend, she told me she knew a camp that could fix me.

By Marc Huestis | December 1, 2021

In 1971, at the age of 17, I ventured (by myself) from my Long Island home to New York City to see my first live musical: Stephen Sondheim's "Company."


By Megan Rohrer | November 23, 2021

As the first trans bishop in a mainline Christian church since the council of Nicaea (325 CE), I am proud to be one of many trans individuals living faithfully in this world.

By Gwenn Craig and Esperanza Macias | November 17, 2021

If elected, David Campos would be the first formerly undocumented, Latinx, and LGBTQ person to ever represent San Francisco in the California State Assembly.


By Maria Hadden and Brian C. Johnson | November 10, 2021

We haven't seen economic inequality this bad in nearly a century.

By Melissa Newton and Alejandra Gomez | November 3, 2021

The Castro district has been a safe space and hotspot for the queer community, expression, and tourism for many decades.


By Rachel K. Cheng | October 27, 2021

The joy of LGBTQ History Month is the opportunity to share the unique and diverse hxstories and experiences of Asian and Pacific Islander LGBTQ individuals and communities.

By Greg Razer | October 20, 2021

While often diminished and constantly overlooked, our LGBTQ history is rich with significant events, especially throughout the 20th century.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 805 Stories