Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Dire consequences for commercial surrogacy in the Trump era

Guest Opinion: Dire consequences for commercial surrogacy in the Trump era

By Evie P. Jeang

The future of commercial and international surrogacy is under threat by President Donald Trump's pledge to end birthright citizenship for children born to non-citizens and undocumented immigrants.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 658 Stories

By Lane Palmer | March 13, 2019

Historically, California has been one of the vanguards of social progress.

By Ashley C. McCumber | March 6, 2019

In March 2014, 15 LGBT advocates and leaders in the aging field delivered our 18-month review and recommendations to the San Francisco Board of Supervisors.


By J Mase III | February 27, 2019

By the time this essay is published, I am not sure what the news cycle will be saying about "Empire" actor Jussie Smollett.

By Eric Swalwell | February 20, 2019

As we strive to protect America's progress toward LGBT equality against a rising tide of intolerance, that awful tide has ramifications around the world — and Chechnya is the latest example.


By David and Constantino Khalaf | February 13, 2019

Facebook recently reminded us of a screenshot we posted a couple of years ago, the day before our first Valentine's Day as a married couple.

By Ben Crump | February 6, 2019

It's bad enough that blacks are already more likely than whites to die from HIV/AIDS. But a drug company's scheme to put profits ahead of lives only compounds the anguish of targeted communities and amplifies cries for justice.


By Kim O'Reilly | January 30, 2019

I'm seeking to build bridges with my new book, "We Love You, But You're Going to Hell."

By Elizabeth L. Hillman and Chicora Martin | January 23, 2019

We believe that the denial of rights to transgender people, due to changes in federal law, can be mitigated. Here's how:


By Junior Mayema | January 16, 2019

Fleeing persecution from homophobic countries can be the most life-risking experience and the wisest decision at the same time.

By Shaun Haines | January 9, 2019

To create a state Democratic Party that feels inclusive, new representatives in our leadership must illustrate that they understand the consequences of a party that does not include the voices and experiences of those who have known hardship.


By Rebecca Isaacs | January 2, 2019

I spent my young adulthood in the Castro during the height of the AIDS epidemic. President Ronald Reagan was ignoring the plight of my friends, our community, and worse, he was engaging in fearmongering and bullying at a time when the nation needed unity

By Jim Mitulski | December 26, 2018

Last week in church, we sang a Christmas carol, familiar to some, about providing a warm and safe place for a refugee child displaced by government and rendered temporarily without a home.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 658 Stories